University of Minnesota
Discover Public Health at the University of Minnesota -- one of the top schools of public health in the country, a distinction that reflects our firm commitment to academic and research excellence.
School of Public Health Awards

2015 School of Public Health Awards

Call for Nominations for SPH Faculty and P&A Awards

Nominations are due by 12 noon on Monday, May 4, 2015

For full award criteria and nomination requirements, click on the award title below:

The Charles N. Hewitt Creative Teaching Award ($1500) recognizes outstanding faculty contributions in special areas such as a skilled teaching of large classes, continuing education, interscholastic education or learning technology.

 The Leonard M. Schuman Award for Excellence in Teaching ($3000) is the School’s highest honor and recognizes exceptional teachers who challenge students with articulate presentations and thought-provoking analyses.

The School of Public Health Award for Excellence in Advising ($3000) recognizes School of Public Health faculty who are particularly outstanding in their roles as academic, field experience, or project/theses advisors.

 The Outstanding Public Health Impact Award [previously the SPH Outstanding Public Health Engagement Faculty Service Award] ($1500) seeks to honor faculty who make an exceptional impact on health and wellbeing through their scholarly work, their public engagement with health issues, or their community service.

The School of Public Health P&A Excellence Award ($1500) recognizes a member of

the Academic Professional and Administrative (P&A) staff who has made distinguished contributions to the missions of the University of Minnesota and the School of Public Health.

Recipients are commemorated with a plaque, a permanent display in the School, and a cash award. The awards will be presented at the SPH Recognition Event later this spring. Past recipients of each award are listed on the last page of each award criteria.


Nomination Applications are available online at:


For each award nomination, submit original hardcopy and electronic (.pdf file) to:

Recognition, Awards and Honors Committee

c/o Stefannie Thompson

SPH Dean’s Office

MMC 197, A302 Mayo




Nominations are due by 12 p.m. (noon) on Monday, May 4, 2015

  • © 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy